Exam procrastination (at it’s finest) by writing a blog post about exams

Hey all,

So, to my friends back in The States, you have made it through exams, lucky you!

I still have the impending doom of my exams to look forward to after Christmas break.  In concept, yeah, great idea, but I’m seriously worrying that while I’m home that I will not dedicate nearly enough time to studying for my exams.

Basically, I am freaking out because of the exam process here. It’s completely different.  My exams will all be at least 3 hours if not more.  They consist of either all writing or an oral exam with the professor.  Both can be over any little detail mentioned anywhere in the course, so there’s really no “lucking” into an answer like on multiple choice exams that we are used to back home.

Another fun thing is that most of my final exams are at least 75% of my final grade.  The other part is maybe one or two projects that were done for the course. So, it was really fun the first half of the semester because I never had anything due, but now, it’s…nauseating.

I’m especially scared for two of my exams because I lack the correct background for the course.  One course goes fairly in depth into the engineering of of food processing.  I have zero engineering background and I have only taken one math course in college. Bummer.

The other class that I’m really worried about it Food Colloids. Don’t even get me started on trying to explain this course to you. Just know it’s really difficult chemistry about stability of colloidal products (and many other confusing topics). Colloids are like Ice cream, butter, etc. It’s a very interesting course, but way over my head most of the time.

Additionally, I will have a Food Microbiology & Analysis exam that in theory might not be that difficult…if you know every detail of the course.

Moving on.

Next week I am taking one of my final exams early, but I don’t expect this exam to be that hard at all. Tropical animal production-it’s an extremely interesting course.

As well, I have a food microbiology lab exam to look forward to, which is what I am currently procrastinating for. It will be 3 hours. Yuck.

The moral of this post is that I will never ever complain about an exam back home again. Okay, maybe that’s a lie, but I don’t think I’ve ever actually been worried in my life about simply PASSING a course.

Okay, done whining. I know that I am so blessed to have been able to study at such an amazing institution and receive such wonderful scholarships to do so. I really don’t want to leave. I think I have almost learned more here in an entire semester, than my previous years of school combined.  It’s been challenging, but worth it.

So, if you’re looking for a wonderful abroad experience with a challenging school environment, you should choose UGent! I’m glad I did. Plus, you have unlimited chocolates, fries, waffles, & beer all over the city.

And now all I have to do is make it through my two exams next week and one more paper, then I will be in Wichita for Christmas! Wish me luck.

Image

A bientôt mes amis!

See you soon.

Leave a Reply

